uTorrent – How to auto stop sharing (hit and run) downloads when complete

The following process describes how to configure uTorrent to automatically stop sharing once a download has completed (otherwise known as ‘hit and run’).

Please note: This sort of behaviour is discouraged with file SHARING communities.

  1. With uTorrent open, select the ‘Options’ menu then ‘Preferences’
  2. uTorrent-HitandRun1
  3. Select ‘Queueing’ from the left hand menu
  4. Under ‘Minimun ratio’ enter ‘0’
  5. Tick the ‘Limit the upload rate’ option and enter ‘0’
  6. uTorrent-HitandRun2
  7. Click ‘OK’ to save the changes
  8. Now when ever a download completed it will automatically stop ‘Seeding’ and change to ‘Finished’
  9. If you want to override this for a particular download, right click on the download and select ‘Force Start’
  10. uTorrent-HitandRun3

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles