By default, posts and pages in wordpress save previous versions when updates are saved.
This can be helpful if you need to refer to a previous version, but also creates additional overhead on your WordPress installation by storing additional records in the database for each update.
The steps below detail how to disable the revisions feature in WordPress. See WordPress – How to limit post revisions if you want to limit the revisions instead.
The process requires access to the WordPress files on the web server, specifically wp-config.php.
- Using FTP or your websites cPanel access, open the wp-config.php file in the root of your WordPress installation
- At the top of the file, below the <?php add the following code
- And save the changes.
- The revisions option is now no longer available.
- If you have an existing post with revisions the next time the post is updated the revisions will be removed from the database.