Outlook 2013 – Error: Outlook is syncronizing local changes made to changes in this folder

Problem:

When using Outlook 2013 in cached mode you’re unable to delete a folder. When you try you see the following messsage:

‘Outlook is syncronising local changes made to items in this folder. You cannot remove this folder until the synchronization with the server is complete.’

Outlook2013-UnableToSync1

No matter how long you wait, the message continues to display and you are unable to delete the folder.

You may also see the following message:

‘Cannot delete this folder. Right-click the folder, and then click Properties to check your permissions for the folder. See the folder owner or your administrator to change your permissions. Outlook is syncronizing local changes made to items in this folder. You cannot remote this folder until the syncronization with the server is complete.’

 Outlook2013-UnableToSync2

The user has the appropriate permissions to delete the folder.

Solution:

The issue appears to be related to syncronization errors.

To fix open the mailbox using Outlook Web App (Outlook Web Access) and delete the folder.

The folder should delete successfully and almost instantly disappear from the Outlook 2013 view.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles